momzonroof

… she's not coming down 'til it all makes sense again…

Work your plan…

Leave a comment

Here’s me trying to show you the new tool belt:

P1030800

Hadda have one after watching Charlie work, up and down that ladder, up and down and up and down… His tool belt must weigh about  60 lbs, which is funny because Charlie weighs about 70.  But I just felt I needed a tool belt after that, if I wanted to be a serious “worker man” so I got one already broke in, for a buck at a yard-sale. Mine’s only one-sided, which I have to be careful I don’t haul around too much weight in it and  th’ow out my sacroiliac…  It makes a huge difference though, when you’re on a ladder, to have a bunch of different bits and drivers handy.

Been painting and repairing the garden shed, yet again. Is this the color that I can live with for more than 4 years? I hope so… I feel like every wall in my LIFE is on a 4 year rotation, and I’m perpetually painting.  The only color that’s lasted with me is the dusky grape in the communal living space. It still looks right.. I think it’s been about 8 years for that, which is a record, but it’s actually been repainted, just the same color! It’s a sickness… So I figgered I love that color, and had a little extra paint left over, I added a little white to lighten it up for the tiny space in the building, and then painted everything, walls, trim, and floor, all the same light lavender/silver and ohmygosh I have just written the most boring paragraph known to mankind… Can I make it more boring, yes, because here is what I learned: In a small tiny space like the garden shed (8 X 12), painting everything one color makes it appear much more spacious, less choppy… It’s also the most fun I’ve ever had painting, because I could just slap the paint on all surfaces, in all the corners, no trimming out, no edging, no taping off… Plus, it’s the garden shed, so everything’s a little rustic and forgiving… I tried to keep it cleaned out while painting, but still ended up painting whole BUGS into the walls and floor.

This year has been hideous with the stink bugs again. I sprayed the Talstar-Pro, which really works well, but it takes a few hours for them to die. Meanwhile they divebomb your head and stick to your skin and spray their vile stink on your hands and hair. BZZZZZZHHHHHHHH…. sound like tiny fat belly aircraft carriers, loaded with purple stench..  Here’s a pic of my precious, precious SPRAYER OF DOOM, oh how I love that sprayer…   and the electric weedwhacker hubs got me at a yardsale. I’m scared of it, had it about a month now and haven’t tried it. Last time I touched a weedwhacker (about 10 years ago, really)  I filleted my forearm, took one look at the blood and flew around the yard like a deranged chicken, durn near passed out from shock.. I don’t do blood well.

P1030801

Bean’s been painting with me, thank goodness, because there’s seemingly endless scraping and repair and primering and painting to do, so much easier when you’re not alone…  I’m also grateful to have someone to pass on Dad’s sage painting pearls of wisdom to her: “Now, the primer, see, the primer is thick and it dries fast, you don’t have a lot of time to work it. And don’t OVERwork it, get it in there, get it smoothed out, not too thick, not too thin, and move on..” (We use BIN123 for everything, inside and out, me and Dad…)  Here’s one of my favorites: “Now the paint, see, the paint, when you do it right, the paint forms a protective, unbroken SKIN over the whole surface, it seals water out. You don’t want to leave anywhere for water to get in and get under your paint.”  Everything I paint, I hear Dad in my head about that protective paint skin…  Dad’s like the Sphinx from the movie “Mystery Men”…

 

MysteryMen_28

He loves those little switcheroonie sayings, like, “plan your work and work your plan”, and “if you fail to plan you plan to…what? FAIL!”

I think too the Maestro from “Money Pit” when I paint, I can feel his intense glare, and  hear his Russian accent:

Alexander-Godunov

” UP and DOWN, UP and DOWN! Strong strokes! PAINT! Don’t tickle. And don’t smoke!”

Mr. Miyagi’s always in my head too when I paint, I almost break my wrist trying to do it his way:

mr miyagi

“tut tut tut tut..all in the wrist, all in the wrist, long stroke, up, down, up, down…”

You see this is why I have to have the radio on when I work, too many voices…

Here’s the last sauce I made, fresh from the garden:

P1030792

Cooked ‘er all day, added hot sausage towards the end, served over angel hair, was delicious, the end.

I used to love it when I was painting, and a kid comes out and whines “I wanna paint, I wanna paint!” So you stop what you’re doing and waste the next 20 minutes running around finding them a brush and a container and a rag… and they paint for 3 minutes and  say, okay, that was fun, I’m done, bye!  My kids always used to do that. I got smart though, I tell them now that they’re gonna paint for at least and hour if they start. They have a funny sense of time, they think an hour is eternity…

Here’s Mom and Dad, I made them do this goofy pose for my birthday, cause I saw it someone’s facebook. That person was 18 or 19 years old though…

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

P1030818

 

And what about Naomi?

